Protecting Wilderness and National Parks

The Greater Blue Mountains

The Greater Blue Mountains were listed as a World Heritage Area on 29 November 2000. A million hectares of rugged sandstone escarpments, pagoda towers, meandering rivers and remote wilderness areas cloaked in dry eucalypt forests is now recognised as one of the most biodiverse and beautiful places on the planet. The Colong Foundation for Wilderness was the first to propose World Heritage listing, in 1987, and had actively pursued the goal to fruition.

For many staunch conservationists, like Alex Colley O.A.M., of the Colong Foundation for Wilderness, it was the culmination of a life's work. "If we hadn’t fought like tigers for the protection of the Blue Mountains they wouldn’t have been worth listing and preserving," said Alex.

Over more than 30 years the Foundation, working closely with many other conservationists, has defeated devastating proposals for limestone mining, coal mining, power stations, dams, airports, clearfelling for pine plantations, super highways, bad tourism developments, 4WD vehicle and horse riding access, urban sprawl and water pollution. They have been instrumental in achieving six national parks and five wilderness areas which form the heart of the region listed.

The Foundation congratulates all the many, many conservationists who have fought to protect and preserve the Greater Blue Mountains.

Description of the areas listed

Summary of Values

Threats to the World Heritage Area